Back to the web ringBack to the web ring

Tangerine Dream


- Studio, released December 2006 -


CD release Germany 2006
Design: Edgar Froese

Download release 2008
Artwork: Edgar Froese



Recording date2006
Recording engineer(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning
Composer(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning
Musician(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning, Christian Hausl
Producer(s)Edgar Froese, Thorsten Quaeschning


"The phylogenetic unconscious circuit of nothing and the conscious illusion of everything searching for the black hat in a dark room which isn't there.
It's everywhere where you're absent."


The EP Metaphor was released in late 2006 as a limited edition and consists of four tracks that seamlessly float into each other forming a composition of about 23 minutes. While the first three parts are instrumental, the last part features vocals by Christian Hausl (who is uncredited on the cardboard sleeve) and was somewhat a preview to TD's forthcoming album Madcap's Flaming Duty (2007) which featured his vocals on all tracks. In fact, a retitled and edited version of Metaphor Earthling's Reality was added as bonus track to later releases of Madcap's Flaming Duty.


The Eastgate Music Shop advertises this release with the following words: "This EP contains 4 musical sequences and is manufactured as a 1,000 copies limited edition. It's composed to be a sound transfer between the Year of the Dog and the Year of the Pig. Enjoy yourself with new hopes and leave the old dogs behind -- prepare yourself for a hot piggy rodeo."


Regarding the initial Eastgate CD release, neither CD nor the cardboard sleeve show any order number or barcode, but number given below is the order number the Eastgate Music Shop lists this release.


In February 2008 this release became available as MP3 download at the Tangerine Dream Download Shop.


2006: Eastgate
CD: eastgate 013 CD; multicoloured disc; matrix code: 8195; cardboard sleeve; unnumbered limited edition of 1,000 copies
2008: Eastgate
Download: complete release or individual tracks as MP3
Copyright/Disclaimer   © 2001-2021 by Michael Berling. Last Update: 2021-09-19 21:31